top of page

Book Review: Portrait in Sepia by Isabel Allende


Portrait in Sepia by Isabel Allende

“Each of us chooses the tone for telling his or her own story. I would like to choose the durable clarity of a platinum print, but nothing in my destiny possesses the luminosity. I live among diffuse shadings, veiled mysteries, uncertainties; the tone of telling my life is closer to that of a portrait in sepia.”

This book is a stunning piece of fiction. While it slows down quite a bit at certain parts, the story that Allende weaves becomes a beautiful web of love, rebellion, heartbreak and luxury. Her characters come alive with every word and by the end, their heartbreak is yours. Rarely have I ever read a book that has so completely consumed me. By the last word I felt as though I had left a piece of me in the pages (always the mark of a good book).

Narrated by Aurora Del Valle this book chronicles the lives of each member of her family. From the Chinese herbalist to the larger-than-life Grandmother, Allende makes it feel as if you have become a part of the family and are simply hearing the stories of long-lost ancestors. The unrequited love of a young girl and the steadfast loyalty of an English butler create a story that winds its way through time and across continents to paint a beautiful story of love and loss. As Aurora grows to become the independent and strong-willed woman her Grandmother wanted her to be, the memories that she explores become characters in and of themselves.

Rating: 4.5 stars

bottom of page