top of page

You are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life by Jen Sincer


Y’all, listen, I don’t normally read self-help books and in fact, avoid the aisle altogether, because they say the same things over and over again in increasingly unimaginative text. I prefer losing myself in fiction and the odd history book, so when I was gifted You are a Badass, I smiled, pretended to be super excited about it, and then lovingly shoved it to the back of my bookcase.

I already think of myself as a badass. Why read a book about becoming something I clearly am?

Cut to me, notorious badass, tearing through this book like it was my job. Sincero proved to be hysterical, relatable, and gently enlightening. The book itself is about increasing your potential in whatever areas you feel yourself lacking and it manages to do it in a way that won’t have you rolling your eyes, scoffing and murmuring ‘what does she know?’ into your third coffee of the day.

My personal favorite chapters are “Lead with Your Crotch” where you’re hit with, “there’s nothing as unstoppable as a freight train full of fuck-yeah.” Fuck yeah! I am a big ass locomotive headed straight for my goals. Woot! I am pumped. And a chapter called “Procrastination, Perfection, and a Polish Beer Garden” where it was like she looked into my soul to write “so often when we say we’re unqualified for something, what we’re really saying is that we’re too scared to try it, not that we can’t do it.” Oh shit, she got me.

Where are 27 chapters of pure motivation to assist you in unleashing your badassery, there is bound to be at least one that will speak directly to you.

Rating: 3/5

bottom of page